Porsche 911 RSR secures second place in an incident-filled finale

Porsche 911 RSR secures second place in an incident-filled finale

0 1650
Porsche 911 RSR secures second place in WEC
Porsche 911 RSR secures second place in WEC

The last race of the FIA World Endurance Championship was held in the Brazilian city of São Paolo on the Autodromo José Carlos Pace circuit. About 55,000 fans were witness of an exciting race that started in dry and sunny conditions. With the three lakes around the track one should never count out the possibility of rainfall. But in the end the rain never fell, nevertheless the spectators had a show where the Aston Martins, the Ferrari’s and the Porsche 911 RSR were in intense GTE Pro competition from start to finish.

At the chequered flag it was the Aston Martin of Darren Turner and Stefan Mückle who claimed their second GTE Pro victory of the season. The Briton and the German started from pole and despite various incidents including the accident with the number 51 Ferrari AF Corse after which Turner was pushed off the track. Because of strategic pit stops during yellow flag periods they regained their 1st position in the GTE Pro field.

With 26 minutes to go a dramatic accident occurred with the Porsche 919 Hybrid of Mark Webber resulting in a safety car situation. This yellow flag period helped the Aston Martins enormously as they didn’t have to make a final pit stop for a splash and dash refueling.

Porsche 911 RSR secures second place in WEC
Porsche 911 RSR secures second place in WEC

Finishing second in the GTE Pro was Fred Makowiecki and Patrick Pilet of the number 92 Porsche 911 RSR. They ran a strong race and challenged the Aston Martin of Turner and Mückle. At the finish line they were only 7.5 seconds behind the winning car after 6 hours of though racing. Third on the podium were the drivers from the number 71 Ferrari AF Corse.

The number 91 Porsche 911 RSR of Jörg Bergmeister and Richard Lietz was involved in a clash with only 1 hour to go. The clash resulted in one of the Aston Martins running into the wall at turn 2. After the shunt the Aston Martin was able to return to the pits for some repair work. The Porsche 919 RSR was given a drive through penalty for causing the collision.

With the 6 hours of São Paulo comes the end of a massive competitive season of the FIA World Endurance Championship. The 2015 season will start in the weekend of 27-28 March with the official prologue at the French circuit of Paul Ricard.


Pos Class Driver Team Car Gap
1 LMP1 R.Dumas, N.Jani, M.Lieb Porsche Team Porsche 6h01m44.608s
2 LMP1 A.Davidson, S.Buemi Toyota Racing Toyota 0.170s
3 LMP1 L.di Grassi, L.Duval, T.Kristensen Audi Sport Team Joest Audi 1 Lap
4 LMP1 A.Wurz, S.Sarrazin, M.Conway Toyota Racing Toyota 1 Lap
5 LMP1 M.Fassler, A.Lotterer, B.Treluyer Audi Sport Team Joest Audi 1 Lap
6 LMP2 M.Howson, R.Bradley, A.Imperatori KCMG Oreca/Nissan 24 Laps
7 GTE Pro D.Turner, S.Mucke Aston Martin Racing Aston Martin 28 Laps
8 GTE Pro F.Makowiecki, P.Pilet Porsche Team Manthey Porsche 28 Laps
9 GTE Pro D.Rigon, J.Calado AF Corse Ferrari 28 Laps
10 GTE Pro G.Bruni, T.Vilander AF Corse Ferrari 29 Laps
11 GTE Pro A.MacDowall, D.O’Young, F.Rees Aston Martin Racing Aston Martin 29 Laps
12 GTE Pro J.Bergmeister, R.Lietz Porsche Team Manthey Porsche 29 Laps
13 GTE Am P.D.Lana, P.Lamy, C.Nygaard Aston Martin Racing Aston Martin 30 Laps
14 GTE Am K.Poulsen, D.Hansson, N.Thiim Aston Martin Racing Aston Martin 30 Laps
15 GTE Am S.Wyatt, M.Rugolo, A.Bertolini AF Corse Ferrari 30 Laps
16 GTE Am C.Ried, K.Bachler, K.Al Qubaisi Proton Competition Porsche 32 Laps
17 GTE Am F.Perrodo, E.Collard, M.Vaxiviere Prospeed Competition Porsche 32 Laps
18 LMP1 D.Kraihamer, A.Belicchi, F.Leimer Rebellion Racing Rebellion/Toyota 35 Laps
19 LMP1 N.Prost, N.Heidfeld, M.Beche Rebellion Racing Rebellion/Toyota 38 Laps
20 LMP2 S.Zlobin, N.Minassian, M.Mediani SMP Racing Oreca/Nissan 42 Laps
21 GTE Am E.Fittipaldi, A.P.Guidi, J.Segal AF Corse Ferrari 63 Laps
LMP1 T.Bernhard, M.Webber, B.Hartley Porsche Team Porsche Retirement
GTE Am G.Roda, P.Ruberti, M.Cressoni 8 Star Motorsports Ferrari Retirement
LMP2 K.Ladygin, V.Shaitar, A.Ladygin SMP Racing Oreca/Nissan Retirement
LMP1 P.Kaffer, L.Auer Lotus Lotus/AER Retirement
LMP2 R.Rusinov, O.Pla, J.Canal G-Drive Racing Ligier/Nissan Retirement



Leave a Reply