FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC)

FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC)

The FIA World Endurance Championship is an auto racing world championship organised by the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) and sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA). The series usurps the ACO’s former Intercontinental Le Mans Cup which began in 2010, and is the first endurance series of world championship status since the demise of the World Sportscar Championship at the end of 1992. The World Endurance Championship name was previously used by the FIA from 1981 to 1985.

The series feature multiple classes of cars competing in endurance races, with sports prototypes competing in the Le Mans Prototype categories, and production-based grand tourers competing in the LM GTE categories. World champion titles are awarded to the top scoring manufacturers and drivers over the season, while other cups and trophies will be awarded for drivers and private teams.

Official website:

2015 Calendar

April 12, 2015 6 Hours of Silverstone
March 28, 2015 Prologue Castellet
May 2, 2015 6 Hours of Spa
May 31, 2015 Tests Le Mans
June 13, 2015 24h du Mans
August 30, 2015 6 Hours of Nurburgring
September 19, 2015 6 Hours of Circuit of the Americas (Lone Star Le Mans)
October 11, 2015 6 Hours of Fuji
November 1, 2015 6 Hours of Shanghai
November 21, 2015 6 Hours of Bahrein

Timo Bernhard explains the Porsche 919 Hybrid

WEC Articles

Porsche Race Engineer

0 1708
To be a racing driver seems as though it would surely have a certain glamour about it; everyone watches with envy as you pilot...